HUMP DAY!

HUMP DAY!

So I’m sorry for not sticking to the theme, but I knew that this post would be perfect for today since it is hump day. Many of you have probably seen this advertisement or at least the references made to it. My struggle with this advertisement, and actually with all advertisements that either seek to go or do go viral, is that there doesn’t seem to be a connection to the company. Yes, hypothetically, getting the advertisement out there gets the name of the company out there as well, but how many people actually remember the company? I sure don’t and I am obsessed with advertising.
This advertisement has absolutely nothing to do with car insurance (I googled the ad and found out it was GEICO who produced it). I guess the main question I’m asking is: does viral marketing generate real tangible results? And if some does and some doesn’t (which I have the feeling is the case), what sets apart the kind that does? My theory is that the viral marketing campaigns that relate to the product or company (see dove beauty campaigns) are the ones that are most successful. This is because it’s not enough to just go viral; you need to go viral in a way that relates to what you’re trying to sell.

Leave a comment